Tags

, , , , , , ,

Cherries. I see them everywhere.

I put them in a bowl for breakfast. I eat them as a snack. I made juice. This year I chose not to make jam, but I could have made an enormous amount of jars. It is incredible, they are almost overwhelming. I go picking them and think I’ve picked them all, “that was the cerry season for this year”, next day I walk across the tree and there they are, another hundred cherries watching me.

Cherries in Syrup.

Perfect way of using cherries. But only if you have a sweet tooth (like my dad, who suggested me to make these).

Yields: 4 jars of 1/2 l (16,9 fl oz) (I made half this recipe)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 kg cherries (2,75 pounds)
  • 475 g sugar (1,04 pounds)
  • 3/4 l water ( 25,3 fl oz)

Directions

  • Wash the cherries and if you want to, unpit them (I didn’t, I think they look prettier when they’re whole, but I have to tell people there still are pits).
  • Bring the water to a boil, mix the sugar and wtir until it melts.
  • Put the washed cherries in clean jars and pour the water and sugar mixture on the cherries, until 2 cm under the border of the jar.
  • Close the jars and pastorize.
  • Preserve it for 1-2 months minimum to get the best result. You can eat them immediately (after they cooled down) if you want, but they won’t be as sweet. (Roberto did it, he couldn’t resist).

How to pastorize?

For cherries you can either put the jars in boiling water for 30 minutes, then allow the jars to cool out of the water. Or putting the jars in the oven at 140 °C (284 F) for 25 minutes, then switch off the oven and allow the jars to stay in there for another 15 mins.

When you’ll have finished the lid must be down. That means the jar is pastorized.

Do you want to join me and bake/cook something directly from your garden (or someone else’s) and share it with us?–>  click here

Let me know if you tried out this recipe, and if these cherries turned out sugary and sweet as you thought!

bloglovin

