Tags

, , ,

One year ago I ate pumpkin for the first time. My dad was trying a new (to us) recipe: Crema di Zucca (or just a thick Pumpkin soup). When I smelled its sweetness I though “Eww, sweet and savoury, I won’t like it”. Well, I was wrong, now it’s one of my favorite fall soups (together with tomato and split pea). I used the recipe I linked to, but adjusted it a bit.

Crema di Zucca

  • Prep time: 10 mins
  • Cooking time: 40 mins
  • Servings: 4
  • 300 gr patatoes cut in cubes
  • 600 gr pumpkin cut in cubes
  • 1 liter of vegetable stock
  • 1 onion
  • olive oil
  • cinnamon
  • one sprig each of: rosemary, basil, thyme and sage
  • salt and pepper

  • Chop the onion
  • Put a large skillet on the heat, pour some olive oil in it, add the onion and wait until it browns
  • Add the potatoes and the pumpkin ( both in small pieces) and allow to soften
  • Slowly add the vegetable stock
  • Tie the sprigs of herbs together and add to the other ingredients
  • Cook for 25-30 minutes on a low heat
  • Remove the herbs and blend the cream
  • Add salt and pepper to taste
  • Add a pinch of cinnamon and a drizzle of oil
  • Serve still hot and accompanied by toasted bread and parmesan cheese

