Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was standing between flour, water, a tripod and my camera, when my little nephew decided he wanted to taste some raw pasta. I gave him one trofia, asked him to help me and he got all excited (probably because he wanted to eat more of it). That’s why this video is more funny than professional. On the technical side: I cna’t seem to find out how to embed video’s properly anymore. It used to be very easy, but I guess some settings have changed (I might have read that only Plus Members can embed videos in a blog post, is that true?); so I had to embed it the simple, and ugly way, I am sorry.

Trofie (sometimes also called Trofiette when very small) are not the most common type of pasta and probably most of you have never seen them before. They originate in Liguria, in the north western part of Italy. The best way of savor this pasta is with pesto. I highly recommend you to do so, since you would get an entirely Ligurian dish on your table, and it is really delicious.

I have to admit my Trofie are not exaclty looking like the original ones which are more spiral-y, but alas, the rolling process is quite new for me; I did my best.

Trofie (serves 4, takes a couple of hours)

400 g flour (“00” type flour is the usual one we use, but you can choose to use whole wheat flour if you wish)

a pinch of salt

a few drops of extra virgin olive oil

water, as needed.

I chose not to write exact measurements for this recipe because you really have to feel when the dough is at a good grade of softness-firmness.

Just a few tips: 1.The dough shouldn’t be too soft, you want to be able to work it well. 2. The first thing you should do is sift the flour; I forgot it, nothing happened, but you know, that’s just one of those basic steps one should always take and which I always forget. 3. In order to roll the trofie, there should be no flour on the area you work the dough on, otherwise the dough won’t stick.

In a big bowl add a pinch of salt to the flour. Add a little water and just a little olive oil. Mix well and add more water until the dough is soft, but firm.

Cover with a table cloth and allow to rest for 30 minutes; then take the dough and et the fun begin! Take a little piece of dough and roll it, then try to roll it back diagonally, in order to get the spiral shaped pasta. This is quite hard and you will need some practice, just as I do I guess. Keep in rolling more and more trofie.

Put the ready trofie aside and every now and then sprinkle some flour on top. This will help the trofie become harder since the flour absorbs the humidity of the pasta. When you are done, which will probably take you a couple of very relaxing and insightful hours, sprinkle more flour on top, set the trofie aside and allow to reast and dry for a couple of hours.

When you are ready to cook, pour your trofie in some boiling water with salt. They will be ready in a minute. When you will see they start floating , they will be ready to be drained and added to the pesto, of any other type of sauce you chose.

