Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love crunchy and crispy food. For instance, the crust of a pizza: many people in Italy leave the crust and eat only the inside. I, on the other hand, prefer eating the crust rather than the inside with the toppings; I just love the crispy crust, even better if it’s slightly burned. Am I the only one?

When I saw the recipe for these Truffles, I immediately decided that I would make them, but I wanted to  add a little crunchiness. To do so I used hemp seeds which not only are crunchy, but are a source of all essential amino acids and are filled with protein.  I also sprinkle them on yogurt with frozen banana slices and berries in the morning and sometimes over a salad. I need a little crunchiness in everything.

These truffles are ideal when craving sweets. Sometimes I crave chocolate but I don’t often buy it; these truffles save me from emptying the cupboard in the search for anything chocolatey.

Crunchy Chocolate Coconut Truffles (makes 12)

15 dates (preferably pitted)

1 Tbsp of extra virgin coconut oil

2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder (+ 2 tsp extra for coating)

2 tsp shredded coconut  (+ 2 tsp extra for coating)

2 tsp hemp seeds  (+ 2 tsp extra for coating)

If your dates have pits in them, cut the date on the side and take the pit out. Make sure to remove all pits entirely.

Put all the ingredients in a food processor and mix until doughy. Put the dough in a bowl  and put in the fridge for 10 minutes. Take out of the fridge and make small balls with the dough. cover each ball with one of either cocoa powder, shredded coconut, or hemp seeds.

Place the balls on a tray or cutting board and put the in the fridge for another 10 minutes.

