Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last night I woke up at 3.30 and just couldn’t fall back asleep; I wasn’t too bothered by it though: I was just thinking about how grateful I am to have found a job that I really like, even if it’s temporary. I was thinking about how important a job can be, how life becomes so much easier when you like what you do, how your job influences your happiness, but also your relationship with the people around you. I am being much happier now, and I notice it reflects on my social behaviors: I am less shy, more open, I am caring less about other people’s negativity and soaking in all the information I get from the outside world.

Whilst having this deep stream of thoughts, suddenly something muchless deep and thoughtful, and totally unrelated popped in my mind: quinoa. I like quinoa, but until today I thought it was not very versatile. I made quinoa salads and ate quinoa as a main warm dish, but it always turned out to be a dish with nothing really sticking out. However, I knew there are many more ways of eating it. I have seen it around the Internet, I have seen it in magazines.. so I decided to use quinoa for a different purpose: breakfast.

So this morning I made it happen, and I have to say, I am really happy I did. I made this Granola packed with healthy ingredients and some delicious tastes: Quinoa, Oats, Hemp Seeds, Sesame Seeds, Shredded Coconut, Agave Nectar, Cinnamon,.. What’s not to love about this?

To complete the Granola I decided (ok, ok, I have to admit I had decided to make this even before the idea of the Granola itself) to make my own Almond Milk for the first time. After watching this incredibly inspiring video by Sarah Britton (Sarah writes one of my favorite blogs, My New Roots) I decided to give it a go and, people, it’s amazing! So easy!

This morning everything was just perfect, I am so happywhen I make something myself, get the chance to photograph it without too much fuss, just standing in my pajamas with my hair tied up in a bun and working my way through jars and bowls. Every day I am becoming more aware that I don’t have to do what other people expect from me (or what I think other people expect from me), but I really just have to do what makes me happy. It’s as simple as that, right?

Quinoa Hemp and Cinnamon Granola

100 g quinoa

100 g rolled oats

1 Tablespoon Hemp Seeds

1 Tablespoon Sesame Seeds

1 Tablespoon Shredded Coconut

1 Tablespoon Coconut Oil

1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

1 teaspoon Cinnamon

2 Tablespoons Agave Nectar

Preheat the oven at 150 C (300 F).

In a bowl combine quinoa, oats, hemp seeds, shredded coconut, sesame seeds,cinnamon, vanilla extract. The quantities are not very important, it’s up to you, if you like more cinnamon, add more cinnamon (I know I did), if you don’t like sesame seeds don’t use them, you can decide whether you want to replace it with some other seed or not, it’s totally your choice.

Add coconut oil and agave nectar. Stir. Cover a baking tray with parchment paper and pour the mixture on the tray. Spread it out and put in the oven for 20 minutes, until it becomes golden-brown. Stir every now and then to keep your granola from burning. When ready, take out of the oven and allow to cool.

Almond Milk (makes 1 liter)

250 g Peeled Almonds (soaked overnight)

1 l Water

Agave Nectar/Honey (optional)

You will need a cheese cloth, or as Sarah uses a nut bag, or some old stockings or t-shirt

Let the almonds soak overnight. In the morning pour the almonds in a blender and add the water. Blend and pour the mixture in a bottle/bowl/container sieving it through the nut bag, cheese cloth or old stockings (I used the latter). Squeeze all the ‘milk’ out. Add agave nectar or honey to taste if you like.

I hope you will like it as much as I did. I can’t wait to try the granola with yogurt, and I can’t wait for it to be breakfast time again.

