Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday I celebrated. It was the first day off I had in the new apartment where I didn’t have to unpack boxes Β or assemble tables and cupboards, I had just found a small corner for the oven just next to the Kitchen Aid I have owned for over a month now, but which I yet had to start using, and I had bought butter and cocoa with the only intention to bake something easy but deliciously tasty.

So after a morning session at the gym I came home in the mood to celebrate; to celebrate our new beautiful apartment with leaking sink and ceiling, my job which I love and R’s new job, every little step we both accomplished during 2013 both individually and together, us and life.. basically to celebrate this moment.

So I opened the notebook where I keep my own basic recipes at the first page, right where I wrote “Chocolate Cupcakes” over five years ago. The very first recipe that I wrote down, the recipe that made me feel that baking is fun, and the recipe I have used as base for many other cupcakes and cakes.

Despite not having any scales, I was able to make an acceptable batter and make a few of my old-school cupcakes. I decorated them with chocolate frosting and sprinkles and I celebrated. Life is good.

Here’s a beautiful song all for you.

I swear next time I’ll try to post something healthy πŸ˜‰

Chocolate Cupcakes (makes 12)

150 g unsalted butter, softened

100 g granulated sugar

175 g self-raising flour, sifted

3 eggs

3 TBSP cocoa powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat the oven at 180 C. Line 12 cupcakes liners in a cupcakes tray or baking tray.

Beat the eggs, add the butter and mix. Add Sugar and flour, cocoa and vanilla extract and mix until smooth.

Fill the cupcakes liner until 3/4. Put in the oven for about 18-20 minutes until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Allow to cool before decorating.

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting (for 12 cupcakes)

225 g unsalted butter, softened

2 egg yolks

250 g icing sugar

150 g dark chocolate, 80% or more

Melt the chocolate au bain marie. Mix butter and egg yolk until soft and smooth. Add the icing sugar little by little and while you keep mixing add the melted chocolate. Pour in a piping bag and decorate cupcakes (or cake). Put lots of sprinkles on them, to make them more colorful!

 
Follow on Bloglovin

