Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I think I must have exaggerated a bit this time. I had been feeling a little overwhelmed by things to do and, honestly, I felt it coming.

Moving is not easy and does never go as smoothly as you wish: besides being alone at home quite often, which means I cannot put those curtains and lights up because I need more hands and a couple more centimeters, our ceiling is leaking and I spotted a tiny third inhabitant, which I’d rather not have living in the apartment.

After work I also like to work out a lot. It makes me feel good, you know: endorphins.. I go to the gym almost every day, and it doesn’t bother me at all, I find is freeing and it empties my mind for a while. But obviously my body didn’t really agree. Then there all my over-thinking and daydreaming.. in some way these things didn’t combine well and lead to the awkward scene of me feeling sick during a night out with my colleagues on saturday.

When I am sick, I can’t even look at bread, rice or pasta, and the only thing I want is something fresh. Yesterday I survived on smoothies. Today I was feeling a bit better and Β had a few pieces of fruit and a salad, a very green salad. I added some cherry tomatoes and some walnuts and made a olive oil and balsamic dressing. It was great to pick me up during this grey day inside. Tomorrow I am going back to the real world!

Very Green Salad

Baby lettuce (as much as you like)

1 cup frozen peas

a handful green beans

some cherry tomatoes, cut into halves

3-4 walnuts

Bring some water to the boil in a small saucepan.

Cut the ends off of the green beans and cut then into halves. When the water boils, cook the green beans for 4 minutes (don’t pour the boiling water away). Take out the beans and put them in a bowl full of ice, or under the cold water stream to stop the boiling process.

Pour the peas in the boiling water and let them blanch for one minute. Drain them and put into the ice or under cold water as you did with the green beans.

Now you can combine your salad: the baby lettuce will be the base, then add peas, green beans, cherry tomatoes and top with walnuts. Pour the dressing over and mix, add more salt and pepper to taste.

For the dressing combine: extra virgin olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and black pepper.

 

Follow on Bloglovin

