Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Did you know that despite being called “potatoes” sweet potatoes are actually much healthier than their yellow friends? It might be predictable from their color: they are a natural source of beta-carotene which will be absorbed by your body if you add a tiny little fat to your meal.

I have to be honest: I had never heard of sweet potatoes before starting blogging. In Italy I have never seen a sweet potato and I think not many people know they exist; you know, Italians are not fans of tubers, and honestly, neither am I. But I like experimenting, so when I saw sweet potatoes at the organic shop, I had to buy a few and try to create something. Obviously, I started off from the easiest dish ever: Oven baked sweet potatoes with a little olive oil, some thyme and a sprinkle of sea salt. Add a fresh dip and dinner is ready!

PS: There will soon be some changes over here, stay tuned to discover what’s going on!

Follow on Bloglovin

Oven Baked Sweet Potato Wedges

Preheat the oven at 180 C. Wash the sweet potatoes and cut them in

to quarters. Then cut the quarters into halves (roughly, it does;t have to be perfect, but it’s better to have wedges of the same size to bake them evenly).

Cut a piece of parchment paper and place on an baking tray. Put the sweet potatoes on the tray and sprinkle with olive oil. Add some thyme, coarse sea salt and freshly ground pepper.

Place the baking tray in the oven for about 20 minutes, until the wedges get crispy on the sides. Serve hot with a dip.

For the dip: Chop the mint leaves. Mix all the ingredients together. Decorate with a few mint leaves and serve.

