Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,



I was in Italy and I was walking to the car when I saw this basket filled with little tins. My instinct immediately told me to take it and run for my life, but I didn’t. I asked my mum if it had been there for a long time. She said it had been weeks, that it was our neighbors’, and she said that I probably could take it since it was just laying there and taking rust (and if mum gives the permission it’s not stealing anymore, right?). I was like “Mum, I cannot just take it, it’s not mine!”. But the thought of this amazing pice of food styling art kept following me.

I don’t know my parents’ new neighbors, but I have heard there are very nice people. I could have asked them. But I didn’t. The day before leaving I couldn’t stand leaving without it, so I took it. Naughty, naughty Juliette. Shame on me!

If you are reading this dear neighbors,
I am sorry,Β I will give it back, I am happy I was able to use it for these photos.
Also, your little tins travelled across Europe to come to the Netherlands, aren’t you proud?
I hope you’re not mad at me,
truly yours,
a guilty soul.

Pan Focaccia

As you probably understand fro the name, Pan focaccia is a more breadths focaccia. It’s a little less oily than a focaccia and you can stuff it or eat it on the side of your main dish. I highly suggest stracchino on it, but you might not know what it is, since I have never seen this delicious cheese outside Italy.

500 g flour, preferably “00”
7 g dry yeast
300 ml lukewarm water
100 ml tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
3-4 tablespoons extra virgin oil to sprinkle on top
a pinch of salt
a pinch of sugar

In a big bowl mix flour, salt, sugar and dry yeast. Add olive oil and slowly add lukewarm water while mixing.
Add water until a soft dough is formed. When you touch it it shouldn’t be wet and if you press a little it should be elastic and spring back.
Let rise for about 1 hour, until the dough has doubled its size.
Preheat the oven at 170 C.
On a baking tray pour a little olive oil to avoid the Pan focaccia sticking.
Put the dough in the middle of the tray and with your finger tips spread it out until it reaches the corners and sides. You can make the sides a little thicker and in the center you should press more to form some dips.
Sprinkle the remaining oil on the dough, the oil will mainly go in the dips.
Put in the oven for about 30-40 minutes depending on the size of your tray (I made mini pan focacce) and oven, until your pan focaccia is golden.

Follow on Bloglovin

