Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

(for more travel photography visit my portfolio at juliettevaneijsden.com)

This town, just between Rotterdam, the Hague, and Amsterdam is so magical. I have been living here for almost three years now and I still like to go out and explore it. It is made of canals, small streets and alleys were you will find the typical Dutch houses and a few windmills as well.

On Wednesdays and Saturdays the town is more lively because of the market. Along the canal there are stalls selling flowers (lots of tulips), fish (raw herring, anyone?), clothes, nuts, and all sorts of food. I am lucky to work in a shop along the main canal where the market life is the liveliest. People laughing, quarrelling, having a coffee or buying some cheese, I see it all and love every second spend around there.

During summer you can have a coffee or a drink on one of the boats on the canal, just in front of the cafe/ pub. When it gets colder fairy lights light up the trees, and when it gets really cold and the canals freeze you will see people ice skating on them.

I don’t know if I will live here for ever, or if I am going to move a hundred more times, but I am sure I will always come back to this beautiful small city.

